Fall 2018 Repertoire

Gaudete arr. Stephen Hatfield
A Jubilant song Rene’ Clausen
We are not alone Pepper Choplin
Soloist: Toby Hazlett
Lux aurumque Eric Whitacre
Hewed out of the mountain arr. Tim Shue
Come ye, disconsolate Thomas Moore; arr. Terre Johnson
Nearer, my God to the Thee Lowell Mason; arr. James Stevens
Soloist: Shaun Rufener
Betelehemu Via Olatunji; arr. Wendell Whalum
Mingulay boat song arr. Tim Shue
Soloist: Clinton Miller
We rise again Leon Dubinsky; arr. Stephen Smith
Hunger for beauty Jim Croegaert; arr. Tim Shue
Skip to my Lou arr. Rachel Stenson
Swingin’ with the saints Mark Hayes


2018 VRT.jpg

Spring 2018 Repertoire

Sumer Is Icumen (John of Fornsete)
Loch Lomond (Arr. Jonathan Quick)
The Old Church Yard (Arr. Tim Yoder)
The Road Not Taken (words by Robert Frost, music David Dickau)
Omnia Sol (Z. Randall Stroope)
O Magnum Mysterium (Morten Lauridsen)
Cape Cod Girls (Arr. Emily Crocker)
Wana Baraka (Arr. Shawn Kirchner)
No Time (Arr. Susan Brumfield)
Labor In Vain (Andy Squyres; Arr. Tim Shue)
I'm a Rollin' (Arr. Paul Rardin)
Go and Tell John (Lloyd Pfautsch)
Plenty Good Room (Arr. Moses Hogan)
The Parting Glass (Arr. Alice Parker)

Fall 2017 Repertoire

Create In Me a Clean Heart (John Michael Talbot)
Come! Walk in the Light (James E. Clemens)
Sithi Bonga (George Mxadana; Arr. Patrick Matsikenyiri, Tim Shue)
Sure on this Shining Night (Morten Lauridsen) 
What We Need is Here (James Deignan) 
Labor in Vain (Andy Squyres; Arr. Tim Shue)
Stand Tall, O Man! (Ken Berg) 
Cape Cod Girls (Arr. Emily Crocker)
Jambo (Arr. Jacob Narverud)
Riu, Riu, Chiu (Arr. Jim Leininger) (Soloist: Travis Pauli)
900 Miles (Arr. Philip E. Silvey)
If I Got My Ticket (Arr. Robert Shaw) (Soloist: Tim Yoder)
No Time (Arr. Susan Brumfield)
Sit Down Servant (Arr. Stacey V. Gibbs)         


Spring 2017 Repertoire

Heleluyan (arr. Jerry Ulrich) 
All hail the power of Jesus’ name (arr. James Clemens) 
Grace (Mark Hayes) 
If ye love me (Thomas Tallis)
Good night, dear heart (Dan Forrest)
Hark, I hear the harps eternal (arr. Alice Parker) 
Diamonds in the rough (John Prine; arr. Tim Shue) 
*Song of the lonely mountain (Howard Shore; arr. Patrick Ressler)
*Tschotsholoza (arr. Jeffery Ames) 
*I dreamed of rain (Jan Garrett; arr. Larry Nickel) 
Lord, help us live in peace (Jerry Derstine; arr. Larry Nickel) 
The Awakening (Gilbert Martin) 
Leader of the band (Dan Fogelberg; arr. TS) 
Scandalize my name (arr. TS) 
*I must tell Jesus (arr. Lloyd Larson) 

*Featuring the voices of local high school ensembles. Only at select concerts. 

Fall 2016 Repertoire

Praise Him! (Michael Cox) 
Freedom come (Ben Allaway) 
Salvation is created (Pavel Tschesnekof)
Dies irae (Z. Randall Stroope) 
And can it be (Dan Forrest)
Goodnight, dear heart (Dan Forrest) 
Ain-a that good news! (arr. William Dawson) 
Rainbow ‘round my shoulder (arr. Robert DeCormier) 
Hold on (arr. Tim Shue)
Tschotscholoza (arr. Jeffrey Ames)
Song for the Mira (Allister MacGillivray; arr. Stuart Calvert) 
Johnny Schmoker (arr. James Rodde) 
Thuma mina (South Africa) 

Spring 2016 Repertoire

Medieval Gloria (Vijah Singh) 
Wana baraka (Shawn Kircner)        
Walls of Zion (Aaron Copland) 
And can it be (Dan Forrest) 
Sing me to heaven (Daniel Gawthrop) 
Lord, help us live in peace (Gerald Derstine; arr. Larry Nickel) 
How can I keep from singing? (Gwyneth Walker) 
Hol’ you han’ (arr. Paul Rardin) 
All the diamonds (Bruce Cockburn) 
Sky full of stars (Coldplay; arranged by Tim Shue) 
Canned Goods (Greg Brown; arranged by Tim Shue) 
Hold on! (arranged by Tim Shue) 
Rise again (arr. Stephen  Smith)
Plenty good room (Kirby Shaw) 
The Lord bless you (Earl Morris) 

Fall 2015 Repertoire

Breathe out, breathe in (Toby Hazlett; arr. Tim Shue) 
Sanctus (Charles Gounod)--Soloist: Bill Seymour
House of peace (Jim Croegaert) 
Salmo 150 (Ernani Aguiar)
O burning mountain (Neil Ginsberg) 
That which remains (Andrea Ramsey) 
Dirait-on (Morten Lauridsen) 
Walk humbly, son (Michael Clem)
We rise again (Dubinsky;  arr. S. Smith)
Soon one mornin’ (Tim Shue)
Bonsa Aba (arr. Andrew Fischer) 
Witness (Moses Hogan) 
Plenty good room (Kirby Shaw) 
Here is my home (Si Kahn) 

Rise again

Spring Poster, 2015

Spring 2015 Repertoire

There’s a meetin’ here tonight (arr. Ron Smail) 
Grosser Gott, wir loben dich (from Katholisches Gesangbuch; 1774) 
Jefferson (from Southern Harmony; 1835) 
Salvation is created (Pavel Tschesnokoff) 
O burning mountain (Neil Ginsberg) 
Last Words of David (Randall Thompson) 
I dreamed of rain (Jan Garrett; arr. Larry Nickel) 

As I went down the river (traditional) 
Northwest passage (Stan Rogers) 
My God called me this morning  (arr. by the Fairfield Four) 
Blackbird (Lennon/McCartney; arr. Jennings) 
It takes a village (Joan Smyzo) 
Baba Yetu (Christopher Tin; arr. Derek Machan)
Lion sleeps tonight (arr. Tim Shue) 
Soon ah will be done (William Dawson) 

Fall 2014 performance poster.

Fall 2014 performance poster.

Fall 2014 Program

This season's six performances offer selections exploring the theme of "Body and Soul," songs about spiritual longing and earthly life. Some pieces focus on the joys of life on earth, while others cast an eye toward a heavenly home. All are delivered with Sonnenberg Station's own take on traditional spirituals, familiar folk songs, and, as always, a few lighthearted surprises while representing a variety of cultures, eras, and styles.

"Veni creator spiritus," a 4th century plainsong 

"Hark, I Hear the Harps Eternal," arranged by Alice Parker 

"I'm Gonna Sing 'til the Spirit," by Moses Hogan 

"Ave Maria," by Franz Biebl 

"Precious Lord, Take My Hand," by Thomas Dorsey; arranged by John Coates

"I Dreamed of Rain," by Jan Garrett; arranged by Larry Nickel

"It Is Well with My Soul," arranged by Stacey Gibbs

"If I Got My Ticket," arranged by Robert Shaw 

"Jesus Has Done So Much for Me," arranged by Tom Booth and Joyce Bailey 

"Ching-a Ring-a Chaw," by Aaron Copland 

"Old Man," by Neil Young; arranged by Tim Shue 

"Hey Nonna!" by Steven Leek 

"Canned Goods," by Greg Brown; arranged by Tim Shue 

"Whistle, Maggie, Whistle," arranged by David Stocker 

"The Peace of the Earth Be with You," Guatemalan folk song 

View previous seasons' program below.